skinny-me-tea
https://s3.amazonaws.com/www.mysydneylife.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/09064325/Skinny-Me-Tea.png

Diet teas, stomach cleansers, detox programs, if I had a dollar for every time I heard about these drinks, I would be a billionaire.  What detox teas claim to do, is to cleanse your insides of unnecessary toxins, beat and bloat, and give you an energy hit. Detox teas often contain products, which make you go to the toilet, intending to “flush out” all the nasties inside our bodies. These sorts of teas always recommend users to have the tea for no more than one month at a time, to give our body a break.
Skinny Me Tea is a brand, which has been around for a while now, and constantly has girls with amazing bodies posting photos with the SMT products in hand (not advertised at all – right?) on various social media sites. Of course, naturally, we are drawn to a product when someone who is claiming to use it has a great bod. I wanted to put this product to the test, and find out what this ‘teatox’ was really like.

This teatox program required me to take a morning cleanse tea once every morning and a cleanse tea every second night. The morning cleanse tea was meant to awake me, and lead me to feel energised and refreshed, ready for the day ahead. The nightly cleanse tea I believe, and feel from results, was designed for me to drink so overnight while I was sleeping my body would do some crazy things and I would wake up… let’s just say in need.

  • I remember the first day I took the morning cleanse tea, it wasn’t bad. I am a tea lover, so sipping on teas throughout the day calms me and makes me feel nice and warm. This tea wasn’t too different, it wasn’t the same as my favourite Peppermint flavour, but I would perhaps put it close to a Chamomile and Green tea mix. I didn’t mind this, but I didn’t find for it to really affect me, I didn’t feel too much energy after drinking the tea.

    detox-teas-that-work-1024x675
    http://worldvitae.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Detox-Teas-that-Work-1024×675.jpg
  • That night, it was time for the cleanse tea. The exact specifics of the tea I believe was to leave the tea bag in for 3 minutes, then to take it out and drink the tea. I have always had a sensitive stomach, and had a fear of the unknown, I didn’t know how my body was going to react, and that freaked me out. I decided that I would keep the tea bag in for 30 seconds, and if all went well, increase to 3 minutes over the next few days. The taste wasn’t too pleasant at all, but I had read some amazing views, so convinced myself to get it down.
  • I woke up that morning in excruciating pain, with terrible cramps and a really upset stomach. Not the upset stomach though when it is that time of the month or when you just aren’t feeling right, but the upset stomach of food poising almost; if I had eaten raw chicken and 3-week old rice, I imagine my stomach to feel like it did this day. I was feeling terrible for about an hour and a half, my body just hated what I had put inside of it the night before and wanted to remind me to never put it in my body again. I vowed to never have the cleanse tea again. I did have the morning tea though, because I thought it would calm my stomach, it did in fact.

    woman-stomachache-sos
    http://www.myvmc.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/woman-stomachache-sos.jpg
  • The next night came around, and it was time again for me to have the nightly cleanse tea. Although I had promise myself I wouldn’t have this tea again, I convinced myself that I only had the bad experience because it was my first time, that since I had now had it my body would be used to it. I had the tea, again for only 30 seconds.
  • I woke up the next day with the cramps again. Milli, you idiot! How could I have done this, how stupid of me. I wasn’t sure if it was just me, or if this happened to other girls. This was incredibly painful, and I wondered it girls put up with this just because they think they will get results from it? It wasn’t worth it for me. Never again, I said. This time I meant it.

I continued having the morning tea for a few days after that, but I eventually stopped before completing the 14 day program because I didn’t feel it was the morning tea that was designed to really make a difference. I look back on it now, and think, well maybe those terrible cramps were just all the toxins leaving my body? Then I snap myself out of it and remind myself, that for me to be in that much pain, something was wrong and it was not at all a natural cleanse.

I did a little bit of research on cleanse/detox teas and found some surprising things…

It may not be fat you are losing, but water weight

Detox teas can often contain diuretics, that is, products that flush out water from your system, and caffeine, which gives us energy, and when those two are combined together it can lead for our bodies to lose water weight. With the consumption of detox teas, you may wake up a week into the program looking and feeling leaner, but all you have lost is water weight, not any fat at all. The downside of this is that it’s so easy for our bodies to put this weight back on. Short term results? Yes. Permanently? Unfortunatley not (Health 2015).

Most teas include ingredients with strong laxative effects

You may be thinking this is good because it will make you go to the toilet and flush everything out, right? Wrong. Of course it is beneficial to have regular bowel movement, but often detox teas have ingredients with strong laxative effects, leading one to go to the toilet more often, potentailly to the stage where they may be unable to leave the house (Health 2015). The ingredients that cause our bodies to do this, can be very dangerous. Nutritionist Renée Leonard-Stainton, founder of Reneenaturally.com, speaks about the herb ‘Senna’ which is in diet teas and colon cleanse teas. “Senna has a strong laxative effect and it can cause headaches, diarrhoea, vomiting and dehydration,” Leonard-Stainton explains. “In the long-term it can make the bowel reliant on this kind of stimulation to work”(Cosmopolitan 2014).

nauseous-woman-lying-on-chair
http://images.wisegeek.com/nauseous-woman-lying-on-chair.jpg

Not only can this cause major discomfort and pain, but if individuals take this teatox program too often, it could become detrimental to their health.

Of course, try these teas at your own will. I would love to know what your experience was. Although I unfortunately had a terrible experience, perhaps you have had one that made you feel amazing and actually did detox your body. I personally wouldn’t recommend these teas, only because I feel there are so many better ways of naturally detoxing your body, without putting the stress of unfamiliar products into you. Some things I would do instead

  • Eat a fiberous diet
  • Make sure to eat foods high in micronutrients (such as vitamin B, C, calcium, iron)
  • Eat greens
  • Start off your day with something that digests quickly, such as cantaloupe or watermelon
  • Drink lemon infused water

These things are just suggestions, and I have found through experience that these actually work. Eating a diet high in whole, unprocessed foods is the best way to cleanse your insides. Perhaps though, if you are super keen to give it a go, don’t not try it, but just be ready, there have been some amazing results I have seen online, unfortunately just not for me. If you have tried this tea, or have a tea which you would/would not recommend, please comment below so I can find out, but so other readers can find out what the best and worst products are.

I am so glad that there was at least one positive outcome of this experience, that I was able to share it with you. I really hope that this post has helped you and that you gained a little bit of knowledge from me. I would love to get to know you, so comment below.

Until next time!

Lots of Love,

Milli xxxx

 

 

 


References
Cosmopolitan 2014, Health Risks of skinny tea, Cosmopolitan, viewed 12 September 2016, <http://www.cosmopolitan.com.au/health-lifestyle/healthy-eating/2014/1/spit-out-your-skinny-tea/>
Health 2015, 5 Things you should know about detox teas, Health, viewed 12 September 2016, < http://news.health.com/2015/06/15/5-things-you-should-know-about-detox-teas/>
Header image – http://previews.123rf.com/images/pixelsaway/pixelsaway1301/pixelsaway130100040/17193366-background-texture-of-loose-leaf-green-tea-with-apple-fruit-and-safflower-Stock-Photo.jpg

 

