Like I mentioned back in my ‘water’ post, soups are so amazing because not only can you put so many different veggies in them (and therefore pack it with nutrients), but it helps to increase your water intake. Minestrone soup can have whatever ingredients you like in it; I feel like every household’s is different. I don’t usually add meat in this – so it’s a great vegetation/vegan option. Don’t be overwhelmed by the long list of ingredients I have written down, minestrone soup is a soup you make when you want to get rid of all the veggies in your fridge, so just play around! Here is what I think makes a delicious minestrone.

Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 9.57.43 pm.png

Serves – 4-6 hungry people, plus leftovers

What you will need:
1TBSP Extra Virgin Olive Oil
3 Garlic cloves, chopped
1 Onion, chopped
1 Leek, sliced
2 Carrots, diced
1 Swede, diced
3 Celery stalks, sliced
1/2 Cauliflower, cut into medium florets
1 small Broccoli, cut into medium florets
5-10 Brussel Sprouts, outer layer removed and cut in half
1 Zucchini, diced
1 tin Cannellini Beans
½-3/4C pasta, any shape you like, I love penne. NOTE – if you want to add rice instead, that is also delicious.

screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-12-05-11-am

LIQUIDS
1 heaped TBSP Tomato Paste, dissolved in 1C hot water
1L Campbell’s Real Vegetable Stock, or any other alternative
400g Tinned Tomatoes
2-4C Water

HERBS
1 Thyme Sprig, whole
1 Bay Leaf, whole
1 bunch Parsley, chopped
Salt and Cracked Pepper, to taste

Method:

  1. First, into a deep pot, add in oil, garlic, onion, leek, carrots, celery, thyme, and bay leaf on a medium heat for 10 minutes. Allow for this to get a little bit of colour, this will later add a delicious deeper flavour to the soup.
  2. Then, add in all liquids, swede, brussel sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, and zucchini. Bring to a boil, then turn down heat and simmer for a further 20 minutes, lid on.
  3. Taste and season with salt and pepper. After this, add in your cannellini beans, pasta and parsley. Cook for a further 10 minutes on a low heat.
  4. Your soup will now be finished! Serve with salt and pepper, and a nice warm toasty piece of bread if you want to make the meal a little heavier.

This soup even tastes better the next day, and the following days after. If you decide to not include meat, this will last for at least 3 days, you also won’t need to refrigerate it if you don’t include any animal products, so if it’s in a big pot, don’t stress about leaving it on the stove!
This is an incredibly healthy and hearty meal, I hope you love it as much as I do, it’s my go to! Like I said in my ‘About Me’, I love making healthy yet delicious recipes, and this is one of them. Let me know what you think of it.
I would love to get to know you, so comment below.

Until next time!

Lots of Love,

Milli xxxx

