img_4813As you all know I love cooking, and making up new recipes in hope that they will turn out amazing, and I can then share them with all of you. The other day I was at the gym with my boyfriend, and on the way home we ate a Clif Bar for the first time, since we had heard so much hype about these bars. They were so expensive, but we loved them, and we thought, “well why cant we make these ourselves?” We pretty much added a whole bunch of nuts and other ingredients in together, and came up with this delicious slice. This is another recipe that you can improvise with; I know personally, at my house I would never ever ever have brazil nuts, but at my boyfriend’s house, he did, so we added them.


Note – you will need a blender!
Here is what I used (please note – I improvised, so you don’t have to follow this exact recipe. Also, this recipe made about 15 squares):
100g Almonds
50g Pepitas
45g Brazil Nuts
3 TBSP Stevia
1tsp Cinnamon
50g fine Desiccated Coconut
130g Quick Oats
30g Sesame Seeds
55g Honey
45g Peanut Butter (make sure you get a healthy one, look in the health food section of the supermarket)
30g Chia Seeds
50g Organic Dark Chocolate, melted

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees.
  2. For your first layer, put into a blender half the almonds, the pepitas, brazil nuts, half the cinnamon, and 2 TBSP stevia. You will need to add a little bit of water.
  3. Place this into a 20 x 20cm tin, or any that you have on hand. The smaller the tin will be, the thicker the end result will be.
  4. For your next layer, blend together 30g coconut, 90g oats and 20g sesame seeds. Take this out of the blender and put into a bowl, then in the bowl all the peanut butter, and 35 grams (doesn’t need to be exact) honey (this will ensure no sticking). This is going to make a really nice nutty coconut caramel layer.
  5. Place this over the first layer and let sit while you prepare your final layer.
  6. For the last layer, add the rest of the almonds, cinnamon and stevia into your blender. To this, add the rest of all the ingredients except the dark chocolate. Place in the tin.
  7. Once the tin is ready, place in the oven for 15 minutes. Nothing needs to be cooked, but this makes it a little bit crunchier on the top, and even gooyer and softer on the inside, it binds everything together really well.
  8. Once out of the oven, spread chocolate over and allow to cool.
  9. Cut up and enjoy!

 

This slice is going to be higher in calories than some other snacks, due to the high content of good fats coming from the nuts. If you want to see the exact nutritional value, when making this go onto MyFitnessPal on your phone and enter quantities of your ingredients under ‘create a recipe’. This will allow for you to see the nutritional information of each serving. This is an example of incredibly healthy food, that has the amazing polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fats, which all show to have great benefits, read about it in my previous blog about fat here.

TIP – freeze these to make sure they last for ages! 

This is incredibly delicious, I hope you love it as much as I do, it’s my go to! Like I said in my ‘About Me’, I love making healthy yet delicious recipes, and this is one of them – why make unhealthy food when you can eat healthy food that tastes this good! If you try it, let me know what you think of it.
I would love to get to know you, so comment below.

Until next time!

Lots of Love,

Milli xxxx

 


Feature Image – <https://hastytaste.files.wordpress.com/2016/02/0d0a3140.jpg&gt;
